• Twitter
  • YouTube
Day 1 - Plenary 1.a
Sept. 22, 9:00 - 9:45 am (EST/USA)
2:00 - 2:45 pm (London)
11:00 - 11:45 pm (Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane)
Sept. 23, 1:00 - 1:45 am (New Zealand)
Resilience & Positive Psychology

Optimistic people are highly resilient from untoward events. Positive Psychology teaches the skills of resilience and optimism. Learn how by connecting them can further enhance the overall wellness of officers, enhance their resilience, and create more effective police agencies. 

Martin Seligman, PhD

Zellerbach Professor of Psychology
Director Positive Psychology Center
University of Pennsylvania

Martin E.P. Seligman is the Zellerbach Family Professor of Psychology and Director of the Positive Psychology Center at the University of Pennsylvania, where he focuses on positive psychology, learned helplessness, depression, optimism and prospection. He is a best-selling author of more than thirty books, including Flourish and Learned Optimism and his books have been translated into fifty languages. His most recent books areThe Hope Circuit and Positive Psychotherapy. He received the American Psychological Society's William James Fellow Award for basic science and Cattell Award for the application of science, and three Distinguished Scientific Contribution awards from the American Psychological Association. In 1996, Seligman was elected President of the American Psychological Association by the largest vote in modern history. His current mission is the attempt to transform social science to work on the best things in life – strengths, positive emotion, good relationships, meaning, and flourishing.

Email: seligman@upenn.edu

Learn more:

Sign up for updates

© 2020, Resilience Symposium. Proudly created with Wix.com