• Twitter
  • YouTube
Day 1 - Plenary 1.b
Sept. 22, 9:30 - 9:55 am (EST/USA)
2:30 - 2:55 pm (London)
11:30 - 11:55 pm (Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane)
Sept. 23, 1:30 - 1:55 am (New Zealand)
Neuroscience Of Resilience

Dr. Ochsner will share during this presentation an overview of resilience and important, related concepts including neuroplasticity, cognitive reappraisal, and emotional control and regulation. He will explain the neuroscience research demonstrating their significance as well as how it directly applies to police personnel looking after their mental health. Dr. Oschner will also share practical tips that officers and agencies can consider making a part of their mental health training and daily routines. 

Introduced by:

Dr. Katy Kamkar

Psychologist, The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

Twitter: @DrKatyKamkar

Kevin Ochsner, PhD

Professor of Psychology

Chair, Department of Psychology, Columbia University 

Kevin received his bachelor's degree summa cum laude in psychology from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and his Masters and Ph.D. in psychology from Harvard University. He has also received postdoctoral training in social psychology at Harvard (in lab of Daniel Gilbert) and functional neuroimaging at Stanford University (in lab of John Gabrieli, now at MIT).

He currently is Professor and Chair in the Department of Psychology at Columbia University. Kevin's research interests include the psychological and neural processes involved in emotion, self-control, and person perception. All of his work employs a social cognitive neuroscience approach that seeks to integrate the theories and methods of social psychology on the one hand, and cognitive neuroscience on the other.

Kevin is a recipient of the Young Investigator Award from The Cognitive Neuroscience Society, Columbia University’s Lenfest Distinguished Faculty Award, and the APA Division 3 New Investigator Award. In 2010 Kevin was identified as 27th most cited Social Psychologist of all time, corrected for stage of career, in an article on citation impact by Nosek et al. published in PSPB. In 2008 Kevin was identified as the most cited Assistant Professor in Social Psychology in an article published in SPSP’s Diologue.

Along with Nim Tottenham, Kevin is Co-Director of the Psychology Undergraduate Honor’s Program. His teaching includes seminars on social cognitive neuroscience as well as a lecture course on experimental psychological methods for studying emotion and social cognition.

Learn more:

Sign up for updates

© 2020, Resilience Symposium. Proudly created with Wix.com