• Twitter
  • YouTube
Day 2 - Plenary 2.a
Sept. 23, 9:00 - 9:25 am (EST/USA)
1:00 - 1:25 pm (London)
11:00 - 11:25 pm (Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane)
Sept. 24, 1:00 - 1:25 am (New Zealand)
Science-Based Resilience Practices

Dr. Dennis Charney will share 10 resilience factors that can help police personnel (and others) cope with the impact of traumatic and stressful events. The factors are based on scientific research and interviews with prisoners of war, Special Forces trainers, as well as people who have experienced traumatic events.

 

Considering police officers are in the midst of having to protect others during the COVID-19 pandemic in addition to dealing with the everyday stressors involved in their police work, these vital and necessary resilience practices can help them cope in a positive manner and enhance their mental health.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dennis S. Charney, MD

Anne and Joel Ehrenkranz Dean of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Dr. Dennis S. Charney, MD is a world expert in resilience and the neurobiology and treatment of mood and anxiety disorders, having made fundamental contributions to the understanding of the causes of human anxiety, fear, and depression, and the discovery of new treatments for mood and anxiety disorders.

 

Dr. Charney has been honored with many of the major awards in his field for his scientific research, including World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds 2014 and 2015, and ranked 48 out of 1,360 of Most Highly Cited Life Science Researchers in the World. His discovery with his co-inventors of the use of intranasal ketamine for the treatment of treatment-resistant depression was named by Cleveland Clinic on its Top 10 list of 2017 Health Care Innovations. He holds three U.S. Patents, and 19 U.S. and Foreign Patent Applications, 10 of which are licensed to two companies.

 

He has published 785 articles and book chapters and 16 books, including Resilience: The Science of Mastering Life’s Greatest Challenges, and Charney & Nestler’s Neurobiology of Mental Illness, 5th Edition. Dr. Charney was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2000, and the National Academy of Inventors in 2017.

Learn More:

Dr. Charney, along with Dr. Steven Southwick, have conducted research into the biological, psychological, and social impact of trauma in order to teach people to become more resilient.

Sign up for updates

© 2020, Resilience Symposium. Proudly created with Wix.com