• Twitter
  • YouTube
Day 3 - Plenary 3.a
Sept. 24, 6:00 - 6:25 pm (EST/USA)
Sept. 25, 11:00 - 11:25 pm (London)
Sept. 25, 8:00 - 8:25 am (Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane)
Sept. 25, 10:00 - 10:25 am (New Zealand)
Keeping Wellness a Top Priority

This presentation will explore how the National Fraternal Order of Police has emerged as a leader in the effort to keep our officers resilient and healthy. Through research, the FOP is developing programming for not only its 350,000+ members, but for the whole of the profession.

Introduced by:

Grant Edwards

(Retired) Commander

Australian Federal Police

Twitter: @Strongcmdr

Sherri Martin

National Director of Wellness Services, Fraternal Order of Police

Sherri Martin serves as the National Director of Wellness Services for the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP), the largest representative organization of law enforcement officers in the United States. A career police officer, she served most of her law enforcement career as a patrol supervisor and lead crisis negotiator. While a member of the Charleston Police Department in South Carolina (US), where she served the bulk of her career, she achieved the rank of Lieutenant, and was responsible for the development of programs in the areas of officer wellness and crisis intervention within the community.

 

Sherri earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology from the University of North Carolina and a Master of Arts degree in Clinical Counseling Psychology from the Citadel, where she was chosen by faculty to receive the J. Patrick Leverett Award presented to the most outstanding graduate student in the Psychology program.

 

Additionally, Sherri has experience in clinical therapy, having worked with clients suffering from PTSD and Clinical Depression during research conducted at Ralph H. Johnston Veterans Affairs Hospital in South Carolina. She is licensed as a Professional Counselor Associate in the State of Connecticut. While pursuing a Postgraduate Certificate in Forensic Psychology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Sherri led the Fraternal Order of Police National Officer Wellness Committee in a landmark survey of police officers on the subjects of critical stress, stigma, and use of wellness services.

 

Sherri is a member of the National Consortium on the Prevention of Police Suicide and has served as a contributor on various symposia on officer wellness and police suicide.

Email: sherrimartin@fop.net

Twitter: @Sherrirowan

LinkedIn

 

Learn more:

Sign up for updates

© 2020, Resilience Symposium. Proudly created with Wix.com